First Brevet 200k/125mi

Bike stuff ensues……..
Tomorrow is my first randonnee. It’s the first in a series of 4 randonnees (200k, 300k, 400k, 600k) that I have to do in order to qualify for the Paris-Brest-Paris this August (1200K). I’m not really all that prepared for it. I’m riding my Fuji race bike tomorrow, because I know it won’t break on me. I’ve been commuting to work on my bike (20miles a day between 3-5 days a week), but additional training rides have been practically non-existant. I was feeling sort of nervous about tomorrow, but I reminded myself that I’ve ridden (oh god, is that grammaticality correct?) 100 miles in 8 hours before with no training, and I rode my bike clear to San Francisco from here, wearing jeans the whole way.. My first long distance ride ever was 65 miles, and I didn’t think twice about doing it, even though I probably had never ridden more than 10 miles at a time ever before. What is also helpful is that my roommate Joel is riding tomorrow as well, and he is a long time randonneur/bike messenger. So that basically means I REALLY trust his opinion. This is his first long ride in 3 years, and he’s not worried. We’re driving out to the start point tomorrow, and he even gave me an extra key to his truck in case I get back before he does (hahahahahahahhahahaha), it’s nice that he thinks that. Anyway, Long bike rides are more of an exercise of the mind than of the legs. Obviously, some people have physical limitations, but if you are relatively healthy, chances are you could ride a bike very far.

So that was me trying to pump myself for tomorrow’s 125 miles. Thanks for listening.

I went to the grocery store earlier to get snacks for the ride…. I got some of my favs. I have to eat about 300 calories an hour on a long ride (over 65 miles). I think this ride will take me about 11 hours. So, I think I’m set.

Here’s what I’m stuffing in my jersey:

Larabars (they are really small, so you can bring a lot of them and they have almost 200 calories a bar!!! I’m bringing 3.)

Peanut Butter covered pretzels. Carbs and fats. MMMMmmmm

Trail mix—–mostly nuts and dried fruits. Sugar and protein and fats. High calories.

Fruit Leather. SUGAR!!!!

2 Almond Butter and Jelly Sandwiches. Ultimate long ride lunch!

A Banana!

The ride starts and ends at McMenamin’s Grand Lodge, which is a pub/restaurant/hotel/soaking pool facility. I imagine we will probably eat dinner there right after, but if not, I have a sweet linguine with swiss chard/garlic/lemon/Parmesan thing ready at home just in case.

I also got one 12-ounce bottle of Saison ale, for when I get home. One single perfect beer is the ultimate recovery drink, in my opinion.

I’ll have some oatmeal for breakfast. AND COFFEE!!!! (We’re getting up at 5am) And I will probably get snacks along the way if needed.

I am washing my sheets now so I have an amazing, fluffy, comfy bed to pass out in tomorrow night. I will update about how the ride went as soon as I am coherent enough.

On another note
oooh. I just heard a gunshot. It could’ve been a firework, but since I witnessed a driveby 10 blocks from here before, I doubt it.
creepy.

About Jennifer

I like fun stuff.
This entry was posted in Bikes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

