Bike Geekery

Here’s a sweet vintage track racing video from Portland’s very own Alpenrose Velodrome.

And now the opposite of track sprints…long distance rides.

I’ve begun to pick out some rides I want to do in 2011. I’m starting the year off with a little bike camping (can staying in a heated cabin be considered camping?) trip this weekend. I just signed up as a volunteer for the Worst Day of the Year ride to get a free registration. I am definitely planning on doing Seattle to Portland this year. And, I’m planning on doing some randonneuring.

Here are the rides I’m thinking about doing so far..

Dec 31-Jan 2 Bike Camping Stub Stewart State Park 46mi

Feb 13 Worst Day of the Year Ride 48mi

March 12 Birkie Brevet 200km (120mi)

April 16th Portland 400 400km (248mi)

June 4th Pioneer Century 100mi

July 9th Seattle to Portland 204mi

Some of these rides may seem really hardcore, but the ones over 200 miles are 2 day rides. It’s surprising how easy really long distances are with a little bit of training and a bicycle with a good fit.

About Jennifer

I like fun stuff.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Bikes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bike Geekery

  1. Jeremy says:

    I’m psyched to see that one of my friends is feeling motivated by the new year. I’d also like to do some brevet rides this year in the adks. These folks put together a sweet series beginning with a 200km in march: http://www.adkultracycling.com/

    What bike are you riding for tours etc?

  2. Jennifer says:

    oooh.. ADK ultracycling sounds like an awesome club. I’ve always wanted to do some biking in the Adirondacks! Last year, I didn’t do much biking other than commuting to school and a few road races with the PSU Cycling team. This year, now that I don’t have school to hold me back, it’s my mission to do some really long rides. I have a late 80s/early 90s Trek road bike that I have been using to get around town and do bike camping. I’m going to overhaul it sometime soon and put the Shimano 105 group from my Centurion road bike (that frame is toast) on it, and hopefully some new wheels. Do you have a touring bike, or are you planning on riding your road bike?

  3. Jeremy says:

    I’m currently building “winterbike”, which may end up metamorphising into a touring rig in the spring. The frame is an early 90’s mongoose welded steel (hi-ten I think) with 700c wheels. 1x9drivetrain and studded rubber…

  4. Jennifer says:

    Oooh. That sounds nice. I’ve never been very successful in the snow on a roadbike.

Leave a Reply

