I could use one of these

via Apartment Therapy

Seriously. It’s brilliant. The problem with indoor bike storage is that is usually unpleasant to look at. I have 4 bikes in my studio apartment. It’s an issue. There’s a bike room in the basement of my building but I don’t trust it, even with using my hardcore NYC bike messenger chain to lock my bikes up with.

In other bike news. I am starting the very beginnings of base building for doing some epic rides next year. I am not the fastest bike rider, and I don’t really enjoy athletic competition. However, I love challenging myself for distances. I’ve ridden up to 100 miles in one day. If I didn’t have a dog, I would most definitely be spending at least a year just bike touring. Anyway, I’m going to do some randonees next year. Randonee is french for ride your bicycle really really far. 200 miles, 300 miles, 500 miles. There are no winners or losers, you are just supposed to complete the distance in the allotted time. This is what I’m into. I’m planning for a few 100 mile rides, 200 mile rides and maybe a 300 mile ride. Who knows.. If my training goes well I could potentially ride 500 miles in 3 or 4 days.

On another note, my friend Tiah wants me to race cyclocross this season with her. My bike riding this summer has included riding about 65 miles a week and that’s it. I am not really in shape to race, but cyclocross is sorta goofy, so it doesn’t really matter. I have a bike that I can turn in to a cross bike with a little work, so I may end up doing this in two weeks. It will be muddy. In case you aren’t familiar with cross, here are some photos to give you an idea.

The basic idea is to do things on a sort of road bike that you really should be doing with a mountain bike. It involves picking your bike up and running with it a lot.

It involves mud. A lot of mud.

It’s technical. There are barriers in place to make it harder.

Did I mention it was goofy? Everyone races in costumes at the Halloween Race (and sometimes at normal races).

Crashing is pretty much a guarantee.

And so is getting muddy!

Photos via Bikeportland

About Jennifer

I like fun stuff.
This entry was posted in Bikes, Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

