“I liked the John Singer Sargents…”

Actually this post is about Rufus Wainwright, the headline is from one of my favorite Rufus Wainwright songs. Please abide my rather ad hoc image selections, and lack of sourcing, eep!

Ok, I have a bit of a dilemma. Rufus Wainwright is kicking off the Time Based Arts Festival here in Portland on Thursday at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall (the same concert hall that I have tickets to see Sufjan Stevens later in October). Here is what the Oregon Symphony’s website has to say about the show…

Rufus Wainwright in concert with the Oregon Symphony Conducted by Carlos Kalmar

Opening night of the Portland Institute of Contemporary Art’s 2010 Time-Based Art Festival – T:BA:10 – is one Portland will be talking about for a long time: PICA joins forces with the Oregon Symphony and Music Director Carlos Kalmar to present a concert with one-of-a-kind singer/songwriter Rufus Wainwright.

Rufus is putting together a night of music like you’ve never heard him do before: songs by Hector Berlioz, excerpts from his controversial opera Prima Donna (with soprano Janis Kelly), selections from his own albums … and a few surprises.

*bites knuckle*

This is my dilemma, although I would be satisfied with the cheapo $20 seats, I don’t think any of my friends are that into Rufus that they would spend $20 on his show (note to self: meet more people*). I’ll probably end up buying two tickets and just inviting someone. Three years ago I saw him play and it was amazing. It was such an entertaining show. Not to mention that he came out in drag, and then he came out in lederhosen. He also sang a song without any amplification that was just unreal. This was at the Crystal Ballroom, where the acoustics are virtually nil, so it was extra impressive and goosebump-y. I’ll probably end up buying the tickets, and maybe I should look for some classier dudes to date in the future*.

*this is not to say I am unsatisfied with the people I know, but it never hurts to branch out a little, right?

UPDATE: Thanks for the encouragement!!! I bought the tickets and my friend Eric is going to join me.

About Jennifer

I like fun stuff.
This entry was posted in Art, Music, Portland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I liked the John Singer Sargents…”

  1. Busty says:

    absolutely go, and enjoy it doubly for me, it sounds like an amazing show! And btw thank you for introducing me to Rufus, I don’t know if you remember but the first time I really got into him was on my second trip to Portland, driving to the coast to see the ocean. “The One You Love” was the kicker and it got me hooked 🙂
    I saw him do an interview on Chelsea Lately recently and his laugh was so funny and charming, I don’t remember it that way when I saw him at the Beacon…

  2. Jennifer says:

    EEEEEnteresting. I shall seek out that Chelsea Lately clip. Dude, I love that song. And for the record, that summer was like my summer of Rufus. I listened to that album like all the time.

Leave a Reply

