Road Trip from NY to OR – Pt.1

Road Trip July 2010

This is going to be a long post, so I’m going to break it up into a few parts.

I embarked on my trip on a Thursday around 5pm. It took us through Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, **edit.. I forgot Wisconsin and Minnesota!!!** South Dakota, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, and finally we arrived in Oregon on the following Wednesday. This is the THIRD time I have trekked cross-country in a car. The last time, I drove a Volvo Station wagon that is as old as I am. We took two weeks and drove the southern route because it was still winter and stayed with friends along the way. The time before that was when I moved to Portland. We made it to Oregon in 5 days because we drove like 16 hours a day at 90 miles an hour!

I didn’t take any photos the first day because I slept through most of Pennsylvania, and Ohio, trying to make up for the lack of sleep due to the red eye two nights prior.

We first tried to stay in a Motel 6 in Ohio at around 2:30 am. It was one of the most disgusting motel rooms I have ever personally experienced. A close runner-up is the motel room in Austin that my pal Reilly and I tried to stay in for the Austin City Limits festival a few years back. THAT motel room smelled like someone had drank beer, smoked cigarettes, and sweated in it with the window closed for three weeks. That motel room was so bad that I cried, we admitted defeat, and got on the first flight back to Portland after giving away our concert tickets to some girl at a bus station.

ANYWAY, THIS motel room in Ohio had a broken door jam as a result of someone obviously having broken into the room at some point, smelled awful, one of the boxsprings showed possible evidence of murder, the bathroom door didn’t close, AND the smoke alarm kept on chirping. FUCK THAT. We got our money back and drove to some other motel 14 miles away. Overall, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois were somewhat unremarkable other than the oppressive heat (we decided against getting the AC fixed before leaving…bad decision), and the traffic jam outside of Chicago.

Road Trip July 2010
Before the traffic jam..

Road Trip July 2010

Robot, my little spotted BFF, proved to be an excellent traveling companion (as always). He was mostly polite and well behaved, except when there were small children around, then all bets were off. He has accompanied me on every cross-country drive I’ve made. So happy to have him back in Oregon, after he spent the last few months with my Mom while I completed my last grueling year in college!!!

Road Trip July 2010

Road Trip July 2010

Road Trip July 2010
He spent most of the time in the car sleeping with his little head nestled between the front seats on the console

South Dakota is next…………

About Jennifer

I like fun stuff.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road Trip from NY to OR – Pt.1

  1. Busty says:

    I like the Chicago skyline.

    Robot is cute.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Yeah! Chicago looks really cool. I cant believe I never made it out there while Reilly was living there. Someday, I will check it out…

Leave a Reply

