Back in Portland!!!….. YEY-ish?!

Hey!! I got back to Portland last night. And it was glorious! For someone who goes months without entering a car (im not self-righteous, it seriously just doesn’t happen) I think I tolerated sitting in a car for 10 hours a day for a week quite well. It was REALLY HOT in the midwest (eastern WA and OR are close runners up. We got stuck in Chicago traffic for hours. BTW why dont most rest stops have shade? It seems like a good factor in rest is not getting blasted with sun. It wasnt until we got to Washington until the rest stops had shade. My mom was scared to recharge the AC (something else could go wrong?), so we rode 3200 miles with the windows open. I am still questioning whether or not I still have a grip on reality, that shit is taxing!. AND my mom is really not into being a passenger, so I think I drove the car about 500 miles total out of 3200 and she took care of the rest.

ANYWAY the trip was a lot of fun and I will post a proper post with photos and everything next week, Before that, I have a bunch of homework to catch up on.

And not to be ignored, my first night parking my car in front of my apartment building, a bunch of mostly irreplaceable stuff that I have been waiting 5 years to bring out here got stolen out of my car. Including:
My moms sweet saks fifth ave suit (white lace pencil skirt, white blazer) that she got married in 28 years ago
My 1st grade report card
The only (i think) surviving edition of my 7th grade zine when I fancied myself a Riot Grrl.
My birth certificate
The custom bicycle panniers my ex boyfriend made for me when we rode our bikes from Portland OR to San Francisco in 2007
My moms crappy digital camera with pictures of our family pets that all have died in the last 3 years (they were really old)
My acoustic 12 string guitar (with no strings and in bad need of bridge repair) that I got for christmas 13 years ago.

Ugh. So annoying. I made a bunch of flyers and made a police report. But really have come to terms with the fact that I wont see this shit again (they also stole my expensive ipod and my moms binoculars)

Not to be a Debbie Downer, I’ll be back next week with a non-thefty recap of my road trip (my stupid camera that I found on the side of the road two years ago did not get taken) and I will try to make a replacement blog post for the zine I was hoping to post (I still have some juicy middle school stuff, thank goodness!).
-J

About Jennifer

I like fun stuff.
This entry was posted in Portland, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in Portland!!!….. YEY-ish?!

  1. Busty says:

    Not the Saks Fifth Ave jacket! I remember when you wore the jacket with a sweet pair of eighties style white heels to Meryl’s house for new years eve one year! so sad… 😦 and the zine! I can still see you and Janet (I think) passing out copies in the upstairs hall in middle school…
    good to hear you guys made it safely to Portland though!

  2. I know! I’m so pissed! I had a moment when I was packing where I debated whether or not I would bring the suit to Portland this trip. I have a small glimmer of hope that I might have left it NY. I think I packed it, I cant remember for sure!

Leave a Reply

